Washington, DC Graduate Schools

A Graduate School is an education institution that offers graduate degrees, including Master and Doctorate degrees. This page lists all accredited graduate schools in Washington, DC that provide full-time or part-time graduate education leading to a postgraduate degree. Note: according to AbbreviationFinder, DC is the two-letter abbreviation of Washington, DC.

American University
4400 Massachusetts Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20016-8001
(202) 885-3406

Catholic University of America
Cardinal Station Post Office
Washington, DC 20064
(202) 319-5057

Gallaudet University
800 Florida Avenue, NE
Washington, DC 20002
(202) 651-5000

George Washington University
2121 I Street, NW
Washington, DC 20052
(202) 994-5568

Georgetown University
37th and 0 Streets, NW
Washington, DC 20057
(202) 687-5055

Howard University
2400 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
(202) 806-5805

Mount Vernon College
2100 Foxhall Road, NW
Washington, DC 20007
(203) 625-0400

University of the District
4200 Connecticut Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20008
(203) 274-5008

Washington, DC Overview

Washington, DC, The Capital of The United States is the capital of the United States of America. Since no state was to be given the privilege of hosting the American capital, the city is under the direct jurisdiction of the US Congress and is therefore not part of an American state.

The land on the Potomac River, on which the two cities of Georgetown and Alexandria were located, was made available by the states of Maryland and Virginia. In 1846, Congress gave back the portion that belonged to Virginia. The city, named in honor of George Washington, was founded after the American Revolutionary War in 1790.

What does the addition “DC” mean?

The abbreviation DC stands for District of Columbia . Americans also simply say “The District” or just “DC” when speaking of their capital city. A (congressional) district in the United States is a constituency in which a member of the House of Representatives is elected. The District of Columbia , named after the navigator Christopher Columbus, is a so-called “non-voting district”, i.e. without the right to vote in Congress. (However, there are voting rights in various committees of the House.)

In addition to the seat of the American President in the White House , Washington DC also houses the Parliament (the Congress) and the Supreme Court (Supreme Court). Many national monuments and museums as well as embassies and headquarters of international organizations etc. are located in Washington DC

Historical overview

When the first European sailors arrived in the Anacostia River area, the Nacotchtank people inhabited the area, but they left the area in the early 18th century.

When Parliament was in session in Philadelphia in 1783, it was besieged by a band of mercenaries. This act, known as the Pennsylvania Mutiny of 1783, highlighted the need for the security of the United States government not to be dependent on a single state. The constitution stipulated that an independent district should become the seat of government. In the Compromise of 1790 it was agreed that the new capital should be built in one of the southern states.

The first session of Congress in Washington took place on November 17, 1800. During an invasion by British troops in August 1814, the White House and the Capitol were set on fire and partially destroyed. While most of the buildings were restored very quickly, it was not until 1868 that the Capitol was rebuilt in its present form.

With the outbreak of the American Civil War, the population grew sharply due to the increase in government employees and the immigration of freed slaves. President Abraham Lincoln signed the Compensated Emancipation Act in 1862 , ending slavery in the District of Columbia and freeing 3,100 slaves. In 1868, Congress granted African American males the right to vote in local elections.

Geographical location

Washington, DC is located in the Mid-Atlantic region on the East Coast of the United States. The district borders Montgomery County, Maryland to the north, Prince George’s County, Maryland to the east, and Arlington and Alexandria, Virginia to the south and southwest. The Potomac River with its two tributaries Anacostia River and Rock Creek form the border with Virginia.

The highest elevation at 125m is in Fort Reno Park, the lowest point is on the Potomac River at sea level.


Washington DC is located in the humid subtropical climate zone and has 4 distinct seasons. The city’s climate is typical of the areas of the Mid-Atlantic States. While the temperatures are warm in spring and autumn, the summer months are between 25 and 30°C with high humidity, which means that thunderstorms and occasional tornadoes occur very often. In winter, temperatures average slightly above freezing. When it snows, snow depths of up to 40 cm can be reached. About every 4 to 6 years, blizzards occur, those infamous snowstorms that cover the whole country in snow (and chaos) within a few hours with wind speeds of over 70 km/h, almost zero visibility and temperatures of minus 10 degrees and colder.

Occasionally, in late summer or early fall, the foothills of a southerly hurricane strays into Washington; however, due to the city’s location further inland, the impact is usually weak.


The highest recorded temperature was 41°C on August 6, 1918 and July 20, 1930. The lowest temperature was recorded during the Great Blizzard of 1899 on February 11 of that year .

In a typical summer, mercury climbs above 32°C on 37 days and falls below freezing on 64 nights.

Founding: July 16, 1790
Federal district: District of Columbia
Nickname: The Federal City
Motto: Justitia Omnibus (Justice for All)

Washington, DC