Myanmar vs East Timor

East Timor

East Timor is the German name for the democratic Republic of Timor Leste. It is an island nation with only one border with Indonesia, and is 278 kilometers long. East Timor has two official languages, Tetum and Portuguese, and 15 other national languages.

According to findjobdescriptions, the capital is called Dili and 1,061.00 inhabitants live in East Timor on an area of ​​15,007 km². This results in a population density of 60 inhabitants per square kilometer. The Republic is ruled by Prime Minister Xanana Gusmâo. The head of state is the President José Ramos-Horta. East Timor declared independence on November 28, 1975, but was only recognized on May 20, 2002. This makes East Timor the first country to achieve independence in the 21st century.

In East Timor, rivers are often named after the areas they flow through, so that a river can have a different name every few kilometers. East Timor includes not only the eastern part of the island of Timor, but also an exclave called Oecusse, which is located on the north coast of the island, surrounded by Indonesian territory.

North of the capital Dili is one of two small islands that also belong to East Timor. Her name is Atauro. The second island is called Jaco and is located on the eastern tip. The coastline is 706 kilometers long.
The island is mountainous and is bordered in the northwest by the Sawusee, in the north by the Bandasee and in the south by the Timorsee. The Timor Sea is about 500 kilometers wide and thus extends to Australia.

Mainly Catholics live in East Timor. 98.7 percent are Christian, of which only 2.2 percent are Protestants.
The United Nations believes that East Timor is the poorest country in Asia, but a lot has happened in the health sector in particular. Child mortality in 1990 was 177, in 2004 only 80 out of 1,000 children died and in 2005 there were only 61. Communication is a major problem in medical care, and the doctor and patient often do not speak the same language.

East Timor


The official name of Myanmar is Pyidaungsu Thamada Myanmar Naing-Ngan-Daw. In our latitudes, the country is better known as Burma.

It borders Laos, Bangladesh, Thailand, China, India and the Gulf of Bengal. The country is under the rule of a military dictatorship. The head of state is the chairman of the State Council for Peace and Development, General Than Shwe. The head of government is Prime Minister General Thein Sein.

A mountainous landscape that has sunk into the sea forms around 800 islands off the coast. Wetlands stretch along the southwest coast. In central Myanmar lies the Irrawaddy, on whose banks very fertile landscapes can be found. Several mountains shape the image of Myanmar. The highest mountain in Southeast Asia is the Hkakabo Razi. It is 5,881 meters high. About 270,000 square kilometers from Myanmar are forested.
Life expectancy is not particularly high in Myanmar at 57.2 years. The infant mortality rate is 7.7 percent. Religious affiliation breaks down as follows: 87.2 percent of the population are Buddhists. Christianity is represented with 5.6 percent. Islam with 3.6 percent. The remaining 2.6 percent are taken up by Indian religions.

Education, health and social issues are not an issue in the military dictatorship of Myanmar, it is important to put money into armaments and the military. Only around a tenth of what is spent on the military goes to social projects. Several universities were closed for fear of student riots. Certain subjects can be studied as a distance learning course, but it is very difficult to get the necessary reading. For example, a medical student cannot borrow history books.

Myanmar is divided into seven states and seven divisions. The states are mostly populated by minorities. The divisions mainly live in Bamar, which is the largest ethnic group in Myanmar.
Important cities in Myanmar are Rangoon, the former capital, the new capital Pyinmana, which was renamed Naypyidaw on March 22, 2006, Bago, Pathein, Mandalay and Mawlamyaing.