Hawaii Graduate Schools

A Graduate School is an education institution that offers graduate degrees, including Master and Doctorate degrees. This page lists all accredited graduate schools in the state of Hawaii that provide full-time or part-time graduate education leading to a postgraduate degree. Note: according to AbbreviationFinder, HI is the two-letter abbreviation of Hawaii.

University of Hawaii-Manoa
2600 Campus Road
Room 001
Honolulu, HI 96822
(808) 956-8544

Hawaii State Overview

Hawaii is located in the outer tropics and is part of the Polynesian cultural area. Its climate is mild and balanced. Along with English, the Hawaiian language is an official language of the US state.

The earliest evidence of settlement is evidenced by archaeological finds that point to the 4th century AD. They may have been Polynesians who came from the Marquesas (French Polynesia). Another wave of immigrants is said to have come from Bora Bora in the 11th century. British navigator James Cook landed on the island of Kaua’i in 1778

From 1810 Hawaii was a kingdom. The monarchy was overthrown in a coup in 1893 and the Republic of Hawaii was established in 1894. This republic only lasted until 1898, when Hawaii was annexed by the United States. This takeover of power met with resistance from many locals.

From June 14, 1900, the US territory received an American administration. After World War I, Pearl Harbor became the most important US naval base in the Pacific. The US entered World War II on December 7, 1941 with the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor.

Asian and American immigration made Hawaiians a minority in their own country, and on August 21, 1959, a referendum made Hawaii the 50th state in the United States.

  • Countryaah.com: Provides list of counties in Hawaii in alphabetical order. Also covers top 10 counties by area and population.

Geographical location

The archipelago belongs to the Polynesian cultural area in the sub-region Oceania and forms the northern tip of the so-called Polynesian triangle.

Hawaii is about 4000 kilometers from the American mainland in the Pacific Ocean. Hundreds of small islands are spread over 2400 kilometers that belong to the archipelago. However, most of them are uninhabited. The eight largest islands are all in the southeastern area: Ni?ihau, Kaua?i, O?ahu, Moloka?i, Lana?i, Kaho?olawe, Maui, and Hawai?i. The capital Honolulu is located on the island of Oahu.

The island of Hawaii is also nicknamed The Big Island to avoid confusion with the state of Hawaii, among other things.

Capital city: Honolulu
Largest metropolis: Honolulu
Nickname: The Aloha State
Motto: Ua mau ke ea o ka ? aina i ka pono
“The life of the land is perpetuated in righteousness”