Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul (Brazil)

Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul. Public academic institution located in, Porto Alegre, Brazil. Centennial university, recognized nationally and internationally. Its courses are implemented in all areas of knowledge and at all levels, from Elementary Education to Postgraduate. It was institutionalized in 1934.


Its history begins with the founding of the School of Pharmacy and Chemistry, in 1895, and later the School of Engineering. In the 19th century, the Faculty of Medicine and the Faculty of Law were founded, which in 1900 marked the beginning of humanistic courses in the State.

It is on November 28, 1934, when the University of Porto Alegre is created, initially integrated by the School of Engineering, with the Institutes of Astronomy, Electrotechnics and Industrial Chemistry; School of Medicine,; Faculty of Law, with its School of Commerce; Faculty of Agronomy and Veterinary Medicine; Faculty of Philosophy, Sciences and Letters and by the Institute of Fine Arts.

The third great moment of transformation of this University was in 1947, when it became known as the University of Rio Grande do Sul.

In December 1950, the University was federalized, passing to the administrative sphere of the Union. Since then, he went on to occupy a prominent position on the national stage.

Regional and Academic Units

  • College Application
  • School of Management
  • School of Physical Education
  • Nursing school
  • Ingeniery school
  • Agronomy faculty
  • architecture facuilty
  • Faculty of Library Science and Communication
  • School of Economics
  • law School
  • Education Faculty
  • Pharmacy faculty
  • School of Medicine
  • School of Dentistry
  • veterinary school
  • Institute of Arts
  • Institute of Biosciences
  • Institute of Health Sciences
  • Institute of Food Science and Technology
  • Institute of Philosophy and Human Sciences
  • Institute of Physics
  • Institute of Geosciences
  • Institute of Informatics
  • Institute of Letters
  • Institute of Mathematics
  • Hydraulic Research Institute
  • Institute of Psychology
  • Institute of Chemistry

Investigation and development

The university has more than 700 registered research groups, which work in basic or applied research, in all areas of knowledge. In the case of the participants, including undergraduate and postgraduate students, laboratory technicians, teachers and visitors, UFRGS has a group of approximately 14 thousand people involved in scientific and technological research activities.

Personalities in their classrooms

Many high-ranking state officials, philosophers, historians and professors of Social Sciences have been trained in this institution that suffered severe repression during the military dictatorship in Brazil. Three presidents of this country have also passed through its classrooms: Getúlio Vargas, João Goulart and Dilma Rousseff.

Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul (Brazil)